Encryption

Give some feedback on using the editor. Positive or Negative :)
Nitro

Encryption

Post by Nitro »

I've been fighting programming my new GD-88 with the provided CPS.
I was directed to this CPEditor and it's a world of difference. THANK YOU!
I noticed that encryption tab is lacking from this software though. Is there any plan to add an encryption tab?
I understand if you don't want it readily available, perhaps a quazi hidden way to enable/disable the tab?

To address the naysayers that I usually get:
Before fellow HAMs jump down my throat with "encryption isn't allowed!!!" understand that I'm also a volunteer firefighter and yes, we ARE allowed on encrypted channels.
Also YES, I do have access to department radios, but any of you that have worked VFD know that it's the bottom of the barrel unwanted scraps from other depts. Our radios are pretty rough.
MM7DBT
Site Admin
150posts
Callsign: MM7DBT

Re: Encryption

Post by MM7DBT »

Encryption was something that was intentionally left out of the original Python script due to it being aimed at HAM use.

However with the further development of my editor being more of a complete replacement of the CPS I have planned to add support for encryption, just haven't got around to it yet.
With Radioddity releasing the GD-88 I have spent my time making that radio compatible with the editor as well.
I do have the codeplug memory locations for the encryption codes, I just need to add a tab in the editor to read and write them.
For now you could read the codeplug with the CPS and add the encryption codes after using the editor, it shouldn't screw up any other settings.

I'm not even sure what encryption standard they use and if it would be compatible with any other radios, the CPS does mention that it is only between Kydera radios..